Potrai iniziare a leggere Death Dance (Alexandra Cooper Book 8) (English Edition) sul tuo Kindle tra meno di un minuto. Non possiedi un Kindle? Scopri Kindle Oppure inizia subito a leggere con un'applicazione di lettura Kindle gratuita.

Invia a Kindle o a un altro dispositivo

 
 
 

Prova gratis

Leggi gratuitamente l'inizio di questo eBook

Invia a Kindle o a un altro dispositivo

Grazie all'app Kindle GRATUITA per smartphone, tablet e computer, potrai leggere i libri Kindle, anche se non possiedi un dispositivo Kindle.
Death Dance (Alexandra Cooper Book 8) (English Edition)
 
Visualizza l'immagine in formato grande
 

Death Dance (Alexandra Cooper Book 8) (English Edition) [Formato Kindle]

Linda Fairstein

Prezzo Copertina Ed. Cartacea: EUR 9,17
Prezzo Kindle: EUR 7,16 include IVA (dove applicabile) e il download wireless gratuito con Amazon Whispernet
Risparmi: EUR 2,01 (22%)


Descrizione prodotto

Sinossi

Once again Linda Fairstein uses her experience as Manhattan's leading DA to create a tantalyzing web of intrigue, betrayal and murder. Teaming up with longtime friends and colleagues, Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace, Alex Cooper investigates the disappearance of a world-famous dancer, who has vanished from the Metropolitan Opera House. Drawn behind the scenes of New York's theatrical community, the team is haunted by ghosts of the dramatic old theatres - and from their own pasts. At the same time, Alex and Mercer are trying to collar a doctor who's been using his extensive knowledge of and access to drugs to overpower women before assualting them. A spell-binding thriller combining the unique history of New York with fresh insight into the latest forensic techniques.

Dettagli prodotto

  • Formato: Formato Kindle
  • Dimensioni file: 507 KB
  • Lunghezza stampa: 479
  • Editore: Sphere; New edition edizione (5 maggio 2011)
  • Venduto da: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Lingua: Inglese
  • ASIN: B004WJRTU4
  • Da testo a voce: Abilitato
  • X-Ray:

Recensioni clienti

Non ci sono ancora recensioni di clienti su Amazon.it
5 stelle
4 stelle
3 stelle
2 stelle
1 stella
Le recensioni clienti più utili su Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.6 su 5 stelle  58 recensioni
15 di 17 persone hanno trovato utile la seguente recensione
2.0 su 5 stelle Won't Make You Dance 24 gennaio 2006
Di Terri Rowan - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato:Copertina rigida
In a voice as dry as her protagonist's, Fairstein offers a gritty view of New York stage life. The stop and go action would have been more interesting had the author provided juicier transitions. Detailed event sequences-such as a point by point telling of how Alex went up to her apartment, turned on the lights, took a bath, etc-allow the energy of the story to leech away, until the reader is jolted awake by a sudden action. A good novel has scenes that allow readers to catch their breath, but they should not be put to sleep.

A series of minor problems plagued the plot, as well. The tension between Alex and Mike had unrealized potential, which may or may not be explored in future installments of Alex Cooper stories. Furthermore, two other cases Alex worked on throughout the novel barely related to the major investigation in the book. Some readers will notice other, smaller sticking points in the plot.

As the protagonist, Alex was weakened by her perpetual fly-on-the-wall status. Her lack of action in response to a judge's blatant sexism, other than to get her case before another judge, made her look whiny and ineffectual. Reinforcing the image are the many scenes during the investigation where Alex does little more than observe, while the detectives do most of the talking.

One redeeming factor is Fairstein's in-depth look at life on New York stages, and her knowledge of architectural history. The other redeeming factor is that, in the end, the reader has most of their questions answered.

If you enjoyed Fairstein's previous work, it's worth a read. Otherwise, you may prefer another title.

-C.W.
11 di 13 persone hanno trovato utile la seguente recensione
3.0 su 5 stelle Weak Entrant in Otherwise Interesting Series 22 febbraio 2006
Di T. Dunn - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato:Copertina rigida
If you are a fan of the Alexandra Cooper Series, you will moderately enjoy this new addition. However, if this is your first read in this crime series, don't start with this one.

The pros:

- Interesting insight into the current and past history of the NY theater world

- A relatively fast paced story

- A quick read

The cons:

- Too many characters, some of which are not well detailed. You may lose tract of who's who

- Weak murder mystery. The central plot of the story appeared to be completely secondary to the exploration of the NY theater scene.

- Too much detail on Mike Chapman's mourning his dead love. His extended period of public despair seems inconsistent with the character developed in earlier books.

- Why is Mercer socializing with Mike and Alex late at night after work when he has a new baby at home? His wife should kill him! Oh, that may be the next version in the series.

- Weird ending. 'nuf said.

I did give it three stars because overall, it was a quick bit of entertainment, and to give it fewer stars would be unfair. It was average.
8 di 9 persone hanno trovato utile la seguente recensione
4.0 su 5 stelle Multiple cases 23 luglio 2007
Di Fred Camfield - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato:Copertina flessibile
Like a real prosecuting attorney, Alexandra Cooper has a case load to deal with. The main case is the death of a ballet dancer. Alex is drawn into the case because the circumstances of the death are unclear, i.e., was it an attempted rape, a crime of passion, or a murder for another reason. Along the way she becomes involved in a case involving use of a date rape drug, a serial criminal attacking women, and a man trying to evade questioning (which reopens another case).

There are issues that keep attorneys employed. Besides the usual crimes, there is a family feud over inheritances, and the question of trusts and possible tax evasion (or maybe just creative tax avoidance). Money is power, and some people are willing to use connections.

You will learn a lot about the New York theater business, and the backstage areas. There are also some historical vignettes that I personally found interesting, but some people may think there is overly much background color.

I would note that there are some interesting discussions of the use of DNA and other forensic science. There are also legal issues about obtaining evidence, and what constitutes invasion of privacy.

The plot of the novel is complex, and requires that you pay attention. It is not a quick read.
6 di 7 persone hanno trovato utile la seguente recensione
4.0 su 5 stelle BROADWAY BABES AND BAD BOYS 4 luglio 2007
Di Red Rock Bookworm - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato:Copertina flessibile
Fans of Law and Order, SVU (Special Victims Unit) where cutting edge forensic tools are coupled with gritty detective work will definitely relish Death Dance. The book captures the reader's attention with a look into the personal and professional life of a New York criminal prosecutor and two of her colleagues. Her cases are varied and range from indicting a physician involved in drug facilitated sexual assaults to the murder of a prima ballerina at the Metropolitan Opera House.

While I do not want to give away the complete plotline, let me just say that the book treats the reader to a descriptive behind a scenes tour of the Met as well as a couple of other famous New York theaters; gives us a history lesson about the famous and infamous residents of the city, both past and present, supplies lessons in forensics and police procedures and finally allows an exasperating glimpse at the practice of releasing non-citizens on their own recognizance with the naive expectation that they will return for trial and not flee the jurisdiction. (Are we stupid, or what??)

This book captures the readers attention from page one, twists and turns its way through 482 undeniably intriguing pages and deposits us at the end of a devilishly good story, satiated for the moment but definitely looking forward to another delectable helping of Linda Fairstein. Take her along on your next lazy afternoon at the beach or better yet on a long, tedious plane ride. You won't regret allowing her to join you.....she makes flying fun.
25 di 34 persone hanno trovato utile la seguente recensione
4.0 su 5 stelle "I'm sick of illusions." 22 gennaio 2006
Di E. Bukowsky - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato:Copertina rigida
Linda Fairstein's "Death Dance" again features Alexandra Cooper, the New York City Assistant District Attorney in charge of the Sex Crimes Prosecution Unit. This novel follows the usual Fairstein formula. Alex is looking into various cases, including an alleged rape committed by a psychiatric resident after he supposedly drugged two Canadian students who were staying in his apartment. The central plot, however, deals with the murder of a dancer named Natalya Galinova at the Metropolitan Opera House.

The main suspects are Joe Berk, a fabulously wealthy theater mogul, his son and niece, Briggs and Mona, a director named Chet Dobbis, and Natalya's patron, Hubert Alden. Nor can detectives Mercer Wallace and Mike Chapman, who are investigating the case along with Alex, rule out the possibility that the perp may be one of the hundreds of stagehands, carpenters, or other behind-the-scenes workers who populate the Met. After attempts are made on the lives of other victims, the police redouble their efforts to find the killer.

Alex Cooper is, as always, a dedicated and brilliant prosecutor, and her friendship with Mike Chapman continues to be one of the most important constants in her life. Unfortunately, she has been unable to coax Mike out of the depression that brought him low after the death of his girlfriend, Val. He is still grieving and shows few signs of being able to move on with his life. Still, Alex, Mercer, and Mike are a delightful modern-day version of the Three Musketeers. Together, they interview suspects, follow up promising leads, and pool their resources in an effort to make sense of all the evidence that each case generates.

Another given in Fairstein's books is that she researches some aspect of life in New York City and provides the reader with a mini-travel guide. This time, we are treated to a history of New York's theaters, with fascinating trivia about Lincoln Center, Broadway, and the many individuals who spend their lives either in front of or behind the footlights.

The problem with this novel, as well as with others in this series, is the thin plot. Fairstein has her protagonists interviewing the same suspects repeatedly, going over the same ground ad nauseam. The deceased woman, Natalya, never comes to life, nor do any of the suspects, all of whom are caricatures. The ending is a convoluted and far-fetched excuse to put Alex in danger while Mike and Mercer try to bail her out. If Fairstein were to plan her storylines as carefully as she researches New York lore, her novels would be far more compelling and memorable.

Ricerca articoli simili per categoria