Ne hai uno da vendere? Vendi i tuoi articoli qui
Ci dispiace. Questo articolo non è disponibile in
Immagine non disponibile per

Dillo alla casa editrice.
Vorrei leggere questo libro su Kindle

Non hai un Kindle? Scopri Kindle, oppure scarica l'applicazione di lettura Kindle GRATUITA.

Fasti Ecclesiae Anglicanae: Or a Calendar of the Principal Ecclesiastical Dignitaries in England and Wales, and of the Chief Officers in the ... Time to Year, Vol. 2 of 3 (Classic Reprint) [Copertina flessibile]

Le Neve

Attualmente non disponibile.
Ancora non sappiamo quando l'articolo sarà di nuovo disponibile.

Descrizione del libro

25 agosto 2012
Lincohi was a portion of the bishopric of Mercia, which was seated at Lichfield at the establishment of Christianity among the Saxons in Mercia. That extensive province, which then occupied nearly one half of England, being much too large for the jurisdiction of one bishop, it was determined at the synod holden at Hertford in the year 673, that additional bishops should bo consecrated throughout England, and especially in Mercia. To this decision however Winfred, then bishop of Lichfield, objected, he being unwilling that his see should be mutilated ;in consequence of his opposition to the decree of the synod, he was deposed by archbishop Theodore in 674, and his successor Saexwulf founded an episcopal see at Hereford in 676. Archbishop Theodore, considei ing that the bishop of the Mercians had still too extensive a jurisdiction for the governance of one man, summoned another synod to Haethfield on the subject, and it was there decreed that Mercia should be further divided, and accordingly in the year 680, Lichfield, Leicester, Lindisse, and Worcester, were named as episcopal sees, in addition to that of Hereford founded four years before. Seaxwulf held Lichfield, Cuthwine took Leicester, Ethelwine Lindisse, and Tetfrith Worcester. The two sees of Leicester and Lindisse subsequently merged into one called Dorchester, and afterwards Lincoln. Until 19th A pril 1837, the diocese of Lincoln contained all Lincolnshire, Leicestershire, Huntingdonshire, Bedfordshire, and Buckinghamshire, except the VOL. II.
(Typographical errors above are due to OCR software and don't occur in the book.)

About the Publisher

Forgotten Books is a publisher of historical writings, such as: Philosophy, Classics, Science, Religion, History, Folklore and Mythology.

Forgotten Books' Classic Reprint Series utilizes the latest technology to regenerate facsimiles of historically important writings. Careful attentio

Dettagli prodotto

Vendi la versione digitale di questo libro nel Kindle Store

Se sei un editore o un autore e detieni i diritti digitali di un libro, puoi vendere la versione elettronica nel Kindle Store. Maggiori informazioni

Recensioni clienti

Non sono ancora presenti recensioni clienti.
5 stelle
4 stelle
3 stelle
2 stelle
1 stella

Ricerca articoli simili per categoria