Non è necessario possedere un dispositivo Kindle. Scarica una delle app Kindle gratuite per iniziare a leggere i libri Kindle sul tuo smartphone, tablet e computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Per scaricare una app gratuita, inserisci il numero di cellulare.

Prezzo edizione digitale: EUR 13,06
Prezzo Kindle: EUR 9,17

Risparmia EUR 1,02 (10%)

include IVA (dove applicabile)

Queste promozioni verranno applicate al seguente articolo:

Alcune promozioni sono cumulabili; altre non possono essere unite con ulteriori promozioni. Per maggiori dettagli, vai ai Termini & Condizioni delle specifiche promozioni.

Invia a Kindle o a un altro dispositivo

Invia a Kindle o a un altro dispositivo

The Age of American Unreason di [Jacoby, Susan]
Annuncio applicazione Kindle

The Age of American Unreason 1 , Formato Kindle


Visualizza tutti i 12 formati e le edizioni Nascondi altri formati ed edizioni
Prezzo Amazon
Nuovo a partire da Usato da
Formato Kindle
"Ti preghiamo di riprovare"
EUR 9,17
Copertina rigida
"Ti preghiamo di riprovare"
EUR 24,15 EUR 20,83

Novità in Kindle Unlimited
Scopri i 174 titoli appena aggiunti alla selezione di Kindle Unlimited: narrativa contemporanea, saggistica, politica, società e scienze sociali, scienza e medicina e altro. Scopri le novità qui.

Descrizione prodotto

Recensione

“Jacoby’s is a moderate, sensible, well-founded position, shared by many Americans, yet it somehow rarely got voiced amid the raging hyperbole of the culture wars. “
–Salon

“Jacoby deploys sharp insight on our present straits”
–Los Angeles Times

“Trenchant …One hopes her incisive book, just in time for the 2008 elections, will find an audience among the unconverted who will take her warnings seriously.”
–San Francisco Chronicle

“A surprising and uncommonly sophisticated treatment of a familiar topic.”
–New York Observer

"The Age of American Unreason picks up where Richard Hofstadter left off. With analytic verve and deep historical knowledge, Susan Jacoby documents the dumbing down of our culture like a maestro. make no mistake about it, this is an important book."
--Douglas Brinkley, residential historian and author of The Great Deluge

"This is one of the most eye-opening books I've read in a long time. Jacoby charts the intellectual and cultural currents that have characterized the United States since its founding and explains just how and why Americans have recently become so, well, dumb. Anyone who cares about the future of our country will want to read it."
--Marcia Angell, editor in chief emerita, New England Journal of Medicine

"Jacoby has written a brilliant, sad story of the anti-intellectualism and lack of reasonable thought that has put this country in one of the sorriest states in its history."
--Helen Thomas, author of Watchdogs of Democracy?: The Waning Washington Press Corps and How It Has Failed the Public

"Jacoby's fearless jeremiad, at once passionate, witty, and solidly grounded in facts, aries at a propitious moment, when many Americans are perceiving that ignorance conjoined to arrogance can be deadly. This book deserves to be widely read, and especially by concerned parents. As Jacoby insists, it is only within families that some immunity to mind-numbing 'infotainment' can now be acquired. First, however, there must be a will to resist--and if this stirring book can't rally it, nothing can."
--Frederick Crews, author of Follies of the Wise: Dissenting Essays

"To a country of underachievers and proud of it, this book delivers a magnificent, occasionally hilarious kick in the pants. Snap out of it, Jacoby says: Getting it right matters. Tough talk and wicked wit in the tradition of Richard Hofstadter's Anti-Intellectualism in American Life and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death."
--Jack Miles, author of God: A Biography

Sinossi

A cultural history of the last forty years, The Age of American Unreason focuses on the convergence of social forces—usually treated as separate entities—that has created a perfect storm of anti-rationalism. These include the upsurge of religious fundamentalism, with more political power today than ever before; the failure of public education to create an informed citizenry; and the triumph of video over print culture. Sparing neither the right nor the left, Jacoby asserts that Americans today have embraced a universe of “junk thought” that makes almost no effort to separate fact from opinion.


Dettagli prodotto

  • Formato: Formato Kindle
  • Dimensioni file: 1003 KB
  • Lunghezza stampa: 384
  • Editore: Vintage; 1 edizione (12 febbraio 2008)
  • Venduto da: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Lingua: Inglese
  • ASIN: B0013SSPWS
  • Da testo a voce: Non abilitato
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Abilitato
  • Screen Reader: Supportato
  • Miglioramenti tipografici: Abilitato
  • Media recensioni: Recensisci per primo questo articolo
  • Posizione nella classifica Bestseller di Amazon: #698.709 a pagamento nel Kindle Store (Visualizza i Top 100 a pagamento nella categoria Kindle Store)
  • Hai trovato questo prodotto a un prezzo più basso?


Recensioni clienti

Non sono ancora presenti recensioni clienti.
5 stelle
0
4 stelle
0
3 stelle
0
2 stelle
0
1 stella
0
Condividi i tuoi pensieri con altri clienti

Le recensioni clienti più utili su Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3,9 su 5 stelle 215 recensioni
5,0 su 5 stelleAll the more frighteningly relevant now
il 3 settembre 2017 - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Acquisto verificato
4 persone l'hanno trovato utile.
5,0 su 5 stelleI recommend this book
il 12 agosto 2016 - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Acquisto verificato
20 persone l'hanno trovato utile.
4,0 su 5 stelleThe Way We Never Were?
il 11 giugno 2008 - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Acquisto verificato
15 persone l'hanno trovato utile.
3,0 su 5 stelleAppendix to Hofstadter
il 20 ottobre 2008 - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Acquisto verificato
5,0 su 5 stelleEverybody should read this. Susan Jacoby describes the causes ...
il 15 giugno 2017 - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Acquisto verificato
click to open popover

Dove è il mio ordine?

Spedizioni e resi

Hai bisogno di aiuto?