Compra usato 26,46 €
Consegna GRATUITA 20 - 27 gennaio. Maggiori informazioni
Usato: Buone condizioni | Dettagli
Venduto da BEANNY
Condizione: Usato: Buone condizioni
Commento: Ships Worldwide
Ne hai uno da vendere?
Immagine del logo dell'app Kindle

Scarica l'app Kindle gratuita e inizia a leggere immediatamente i libri Kindle sul tuo smartphone, tablet o computer, senza bisogno di un dispositivo Kindle. Ottieni maggiori informazioni

Leggi immediatamente sul tuo browser con Kindle Cloud Reader.

Con la fotocamera del cellulare scansiona il codice di seguito e scarica l'app Kindle.

Codice QR per scaricare l'app Kindle

Passa al retro Passa al fronte
Ascolta Riproduzione in corso... In pausa   Stai ascoltando un campione dell'edizione audio udibile.
Maggiori informazioni

Segui l'autore

Si è verificato un errore. Riprova a effettuare la richiesta più tardi.

The Farm: Joanne Ramos Copertina flessibile – 7 maggio 2019

4,0 su 5 stelle 1.497 voti

Prezzo Amazon
Nuovo a partire da Usato da
Formato Kindle
Copertina flessibile, 7 maggio 2019
26,46 €
26,46 €

Descrizione prodotto

Recensione

This topical, provocative debut anatomises class, race and the American dream ― Guardian

An
intelligent, thought-provoking, slyly satirical novel with thrillerish elements, it is also affectingly illuminating about life for an expatriate service classSunday Times

If you only read a single debut this year, make it The FarmVogue, Must-Reads

It's so now . Ramos has crafted a real page-turner that combines all the hottest issues of the day: inequality, race, and women's battle to reclaim their bodies from commodification by big business, with the eternal questions of how much we can sacrifice before losing ourselves completely -- Melissa Katsoulis ― The Times

Her book is a necessary one -
we need a mass-market novel that shows the impact of colonisation . A great read -- Dina Nayeri ― Guardian

Utterly brilliant. I couldn't put it down! -- Christie Watson, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Language of Kindness

Crammed with acutely observed scenes that place reproduction within an intricate web of class, gender and raceObserver

For those who can't wait until September for Margaret Atwood's sequel to The Handmaid's Tale, here's a handy interim stand-in. Class, race and issues of power inequality are on the agenda almost as much as gender in this novel about a fertility clinic where surrogates have babies for the ultra-wealthy ― i paper

Excellent . With echoes of
The Help and The Handmaid's Tale, The Farm is tipped to be one of the biggest books of the summer, a page-turner which strikes an entertaining balance between exploring topical issues and telling a great story with thoroughly likeable characters ― Daily Express

An i
ntelligent, thought-provoking, slyly satirical novel with thrillerish elements, it is also affectingly illuminating about life for an expatriate service class ― SUNDAY TIMES

You can't move for feminist dystopias in these Atwoodian times.
Joanne Ramos's debut is one of the bestThe Times

Intelligent and finely written ... Powerful -- LUCY SCHOLES ― I PAPER

A narrative resembling a cross between
Rosemary's Baby and Dave Eggers's tech thriller The Circle . Addictive, thought-provoking entertainmentDaily Mail

An easy read that raises difficult, capital-I issues . There's plenty to unsettle here ― Mail on Sunday

A new Handmaid's TaleSun

It's a provocative idea, and Ramos nails it . Crisp and believable, this smart debut links the poor and the 1 percent in a unique transaction that turns out to be mutually rewarding ― People

Chillingly plausible -- Sophie Mackintosh, author of the Booker-longlisted The Water Cure

Couldn't be more relevant or timelyO Magazine

Unnervingly plausibleEconomist

Everything has a price in this
promising and compelling dystopian debut ― Red, This Month’s Best Books

Billed as
the new Handmaid's Tale, Joanne Ramos's debut follows a luxury yet terrifying retreat for surrogate mothers ― Grazia

Ramos is good at making the dystopian feel contemporary, or perhaps that should be the other way round . Ramos's debut
smuggles a sharp attack on America's entrenched inequality into a Handmaid's Tale-style chiller about surrogacyMetro

An excoriation of capitalist exploitation, for dystopian darkness and sinister consequences . Timely, resonant, morally complex ―
Literary Review

Brilliantly cutting -- Reni Eddo-Lodge, author of Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race

A knock-out debut novel -- Paula Daly, author of 'Open Your Eyes'

Wow ... Truly unforgettable -- Gary Shteyngart

It's a provocative idea, and Ramos nails it . Crisp and believable, this smart debut links the poor and the 1 percent in a unique transaction that turns out to be mutually rewarding ― People

Joanne Ramos' tender, trenchant debut
chillingly explores a dystopian future where race, class, power and poverty all play their part in paid-for pregnancies ― Psychologies

One of the most hotly anticipated debuts this year - and for good reasonCosmopolitan

Smart and thought-provokingStylist

An unsettling, unputdownable readElle

The first debut of 2019 to grab the top spot for me ... Don't miss this one ―
Bookseller, Book of the Month

The Farm terrifies with a simple question: How much of ourselves are we willing to sell? With characters so real they leap off the page, Ramos yanks the reader into a world of Haves and Have-Nots, and her question lingers long after we turn the final page -- Christina Dalcher, author of Vox

Amazing. It's hard to explain what The Farm is about, because it's about everything a book SHOULD be about. Race and class and power and inequality, and it's dark & funny ALL AT THE SAME TIME -- Joanna Cannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of Three Things About Elsie and The Trouble with Goats and Sheep

Ramos has written
a firecracker of a novel, at once caustic and tender, page-turning and thought-provoking. This is a fierce indictment of the vampiric nature of modern capitalism, which never loses sight of the very human stories at its center. Highly recommended -- Madeline Miller, author of Circe

The debut to order now ... Think Never Let Me Go meets The Handmaid's TaleSunday Times

A
highly original and provocative story about the impossible choices in so many women's lives. These characters will stay with me for a long time -- Karen Thompson Walker, author of 'The Age of Miracles'

Consider this The Handmaid's Tale of 2019 . In the vein of The Circle, but somehow more penetrating and realistic ― MARIE CLAIRE

Ramos creates a believable dystopian future where poor women try to make money and change their societal standing by offering up their bodies to house and deliver healthy babies for the rich. The novel alternates perspectives between four women and provides notes on fundamental inequalities -- The best books to look forward to in 2019 ―
EVENING STANDARD

Excellent, both as a reproductive dystopian narrative and as a social novel about women and class -- Starred Review ―
KIRKUS

A delicately paced and finely wrought tale .
A biting critique of the world's inequalities . Moving, ethically complex and gripping, The Farm is a great novelHerald

Compelling .
Will really make you thinkGOOD HOUSEKEEPING

It reads like a thriller but it is
hard-hitting about race, money and inequalityBEST

We loved this bookTAKE A BREAK

Joanne Ramos's
tender, trenchant debut chillingly explores a dystopian future where race, class, power and poverty all play their part in paid-for pregnancies ― PSYCHOLOGIES

Unnervingly plausible ―
ECONOMIST

Descrizione del libro

A compulsive, brilliant novel about race, class, family and power for fans of Celeste Ng, Margaret Atwood and Naomi Alderman

Dettagli prodotto

  • Editore ‏ : ‎ Bloomsbury Publishing; 1° edizione (7 maggio 2019)
  • Lingua ‏ : ‎ Inglese
  • Copertina flessibile ‏ : ‎ 336 pagine
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1526605244
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1526605245
  • Peso articolo ‏ : ‎ 514 g
  • Dimensioni ‏ : ‎ 15.2 x 2.6 x 22.9 cm
  • Recensioni dei clienti:
    4,0 su 5 stelle 1.497 voti

Informazioni sull'autore

Segui gli autori per ottenere aggiornamenti sulle nuove uscite, oltre a consigli avanzati.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Scopri di più sui libri dell'autore, guarda autori simili, leggi i blog dell’autore e altro ancora

Recensioni clienti

4,0 su 5 stelle
4 su 5
1.497 valutazioni globali

Recensioni migliori da Italia

Ci sono 0 recensioni e 2 valutazioni dall'Italia

Le recensioni migliori da altri paesi

Kaffmatt
1,0 su 5 stelle Please......Avoid- A Convoluted Story About Nothing
Recensito nel Regno Unito 🇬🇧 il 23 luglio 2019
16 persone l'hanno trovato utile
Segnala un abuso
S Payne
2,0 su 5 stelle Interesting concept but really lacking good execution
Recensito nel Regno Unito 🇬🇧 il 14 agosto 2019
11 persone l'hanno trovato utile
Segnala un abuso
Cat
3,0 su 5 stelle Quick read
Recensito nel Regno Unito 🇬🇧 il 12 maggio 2019
16 persone l'hanno trovato utile
Segnala un abuso
Amazon Customer
3,0 su 5 stelle Not quite what it could be
Recensito nel Regno Unito 🇬🇧 il 21 luglio 2019
4 persone l'hanno trovato utile
Segnala un abuso
Paice10
1,0 su 5 stelle Doesn’t deliver on anything!
Recensito nel Regno Unito 🇬🇧 il 15 settembre 2019
4 persone l'hanno trovato utile
Segnala un abuso