EUR 24,29
  • Tutti i prezzi includono l'IVA.
Spedizione gratuita per ordini sopra EUR 29.
Disponibilità: solo 5 --ordina subito (ulteriori in arrivo).
Venduto e spedito da Amazon. Confezione regalo disponibile.
Give a Girl a Knife è stato aggiunto al tuo carrello

Spedire a:
Per vedere gli indirizzi, per favore
Oppure
Inserisci un codice postale corretto.
Oppure
Ne hai uno da vendere?
Passa al retro Passa al fronte
Ascolta Riproduzione in corso... In pausa   Stai ascoltando un campione dell'edizione audio udibile.
Maggiori informazioni
Visualizza l'immagine

Give a Girl a Knife (Inglese) Copertina rigida – Deckle Edge, 16 mag 2017

4,1 su 5 stelle
5 stelle
9
4 stelle
6
3 stelle
7
2 stelle
0
1 stella
0
4,1 su 5 stelle 22 recensioni dagli USA

Visualizza tutti i 2 formati e le edizioni Nascondi altri formati ed edizioni
Prezzo Amazon
Nuovo a partire da Usato da
Formato Kindle
"Ti preghiamo di riprovare"
Copertina rigida, Deckle Edge
"Ti preghiamo di riprovare"
EUR 24,29
EUR 7,49 EUR 48,36
Nota: Questo articolo può essere consegnato in un punto di ritiro. Dettagli
Ritira il tuo ordine dove e quando preferisci.
  • Scegli tra gli oltre 8.500 punti di ritiro in Italia
  • I clienti Prime beneficiano di consegne illimitate presso i punti di ritiro senza costi aggiuntivi
Come inviare un ordine presso un punto di ritiro Amazon.
  1. Trova il tuo punto di ritiro preferito ed aggiungilo alla tua rubrica degli indirizzi
  2. Indica il punto di ritiro in cui vuoi ricevere il tuo ordine nella pagina di conferma d’ordine
Maggiori informazioni
click to open popover

Descrizione prodotto

Recensione

"Give a Girl a Knife made me consider a move to, or at least a summer spent in, rural Minnesota just to be close to Amy and her home kitchen. I've read my fair share of chef memoirs—full of heroes, hard nights, and militant discipline. Amy's story is different. It's about more than her wacky path through some of New York's best kitchens; it's about Amy's innate need to cook. What is it they say? Writers write. Chefs cook. Amy is the rare example of someone who does both like a boss!"
—Vivian Howard, author of Deep Run Roots

"Amy's story of being true to herself, even when it means going against the grain (and off the grid, both literally and figuratively), is exciting and inspiring. I love how food lures her to return home—but this time on her own terms."
—Andie Mitchell, author of It Was Me All Along

“Fans of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential and Gabrielle Hamilton's Blood, Bones and Butter will enjoy this chef's memoir of learning to cook in Minnesota and dicing and deep-frying her way through the kitchens of some of New York's most esteemed chefs.”
AM New York 

L'autore

AMY THIELEN is the author of the James Beard Award-winning cookbook The New Midwestern Table and the host of Heartland Table on Food Network. A former New York City line cook, she now speaks and writes about home cooking for radio, television, and magazines, including Saveur, where she’s a contributing editor. She lives with her husband, visual artist Aaron Spangler, their son, his dog, and a bunch of chickens, in rural Park Rapids, Minnesota.

Non è necessario possedere un dispositivo Kindle. Scarica una delle app Kindle gratuite per iniziare a leggere i libri Kindle sul tuo smartphone, tablet e computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

Per scaricare una app gratuita, inserisci il numero di cellulare.



Dettagli prodotto

Recensioni clienti

Non ci sono ancora recensioni di clienti su Amazon.it
5 stelle
4 stelle
3 stelle
2 stelle
1 stella

Le recensioni clienti più utili su Amazon.com (beta) (Potrebbero essere presenti recensioni del programma "Early Reviewer Rewards")

Amazon.com: 4.1 su 5 stelle 22 recensioni
2 di 2 persone hanno trovato utile la seguente recensione
5.0 su 5 stelle Very familiar. :-) 18 maggio 2017
Di David Buchner - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato: Copertina rigida Acquisto verificato
I loved the book, even though I'm probably not in the main target audience. If there's a kind of person who's at the other end of the scale from a "foodie", that would be me — but I do know what it's like to care about the nitty gritty, sensual detail of a thing, and want to get it _just right_, and Amy has communicated that experience in a way that I can relate to, even though cooking is really really not my world. Many of the things described were alien to me, but it didn't matter because I got caught up in the romance of it all.
Buy it. Read it. It's a great fun story about a very adventurous person.
5.0 su 5 stelle Loved her story 24 maggio 2017
Di Beachpea3 - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato: Copertina rigida Acquisto verificato
Very entertaining! Loved her story.
4 di 7 persone hanno trovato utile la seguente recensione
4.0 su 5 stelle Consuming 9 marzo 2017
Di Melanie Gilbert - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato: Copertina rigida Recensione Vine di un prodotto gratuito ( Cos'è? )
There’s a lot to chew on in Amy Thielen’s memoir about her journey from home cook, to New York City restaurant line cook and back to being a home cook, again. Although there’s nary a recipe to be found in this work (for that you’ll have to buy her award-winning cookbook, “The New Midwestern Table”), this book chronicles how Thielen came to develop her distinctive heartland cooking style.

You don’t have to love cooking to enjoy Thielen’s love of cooking. Her story is more an exploration of how her food connects her to family, friends, community, memories and place. And she tells that story by sharing in beautiful prose (she’s also an English major) her odyssey through that food space starting with her mother’s kitchen. Thielen builds on that family history with stints as a waitress in a local diner, roughing it at a farm-to-table spread outside of her hometown at a place called Two Inlets, moving on to be a line cook at high-end New York City restaurants, before returning home to focus on her family and her cooking style.

As much as I enjoyed reading this book, at times the timeline was jumbled which interrupted the narrative flow. We appreciate Thielen’s prowess in the kitchen because she tells us so, but she rarely describes people’s reactions to her food. I longed for an anecdote about how her cooking was transformative to someone other than herself.

Overall, though, this is a warm and engaging story of one woman’s consuming love of food.
3 di 3 persone hanno trovato utile la seguente recensione
5.0 su 5 stelle Loved the adventure! 13 marzo 2017
Di An Educated Consumer - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato: Copertina rigida Recensione Vine di un prodotto gratuito ( Cos'è? )
Have enjoyed many books about training to be a chef...some reaching their goal and others adopting a new career.

This was the draw to this memoir.

Amy Thielen chronicles her life and love of food as well as the desire to explore and appreciate the most essential and homey, to the most intricate and layered.

Coming from rural Park Rapids to Brooklyn and back and forth again and again, Amy gets a taste (no pun intended) for the life of the basic back to nature and that of a culinary want to be.

With all the trappings of truly rustic and basic living in Park Rapids, to the sublet in Brooklyn's not finest areas to be sure, Amy pursues.

Along for the ride and comfortable in his own skin is her partner Aaron (eventual husband) an artist, a sculptor of extraordinary scope.

Amy's memories, her retrospective, Aaron shape the outcome and it is an interesting and quite extraordinary ride thru their early years together.

Peeks inside the kitchens of famous chefs, methods, old school appreciation are wonderful.
2 di 2 persone hanno trovato utile la seguente recensione
5.0 su 5 stelle For the Love of Food 16 marzo 2017
Di Frequent Buyer - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato: Copertina rigida Recensione Vine di un prodotto gratuito ( Cos'è? )
Food binds us. It binds us to place and time and to people. Food can be part of your family's history, of your region's history.

GIVE A GIRL A KNIFE is an autobiography about how food can define your life. The special moments and the every day ones. For Amy Thielen it might even be more important because she is a gifted professional chef.

I suspect opinions will vary on this but for me the book falls into two pieces. One is a pure autobiography and the second is about Amy's experience as a chef-in-the-making in New York City.

The biography was interesting to me because it describes life in a small community in northern Minnesota. The cooking there and the way of life there is very different that what I knew as a child growing up in Florida. We had fried fish and scallops cooked on the boat, and Cuban boliche. She grew up where steak, bacon, butter and sauerkraut were king. The women she learned from where proud hausfraus who knew how to do pickles right. I reveled in this interesting alt-community.

The portion of the book though I adored the most was working in the high end restaurants of NYC. I always wondered what it would be like, and it was very very different than I imagined. Horrific hours and so much tension. Being a woman in a man's world... well, that's more or less what I expected; but I was proud of the way she hung in there and coped.

I am thankful she shared those stories with me.

WHAT I REALLY THINK is that you'll enjoy this if you want to see the American struggle. Young people fighting to find their place, to experiment and find the right path. A community persist because it's loyal to it's past.

Alternatively, you'll probably like this book if you want to see and touch (through words) what it is like to work in Michelin rated restaurants.