Non è necessario possedere un dispositivo Kindle. Scarica una delle app Kindle gratuite per iniziare a leggere i libri Kindle sul tuo smartphone, tablet e computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Per scaricare una app gratuita, inserisci il numero di cellulare.

Prezzo Kindle: EUR 1,05
include IVA (dove applicabile)

Queste promozioni verranno applicate al seguente articolo:

Alcune promozioni sono cumulabili; altre non possono essere unite con ulteriori promozioni. Per maggiori dettagli, vai ai Termini & Condizioni delle specifiche promozioni.

Invia a Kindle o a un altro dispositivo

Invia a Kindle o a un altro dispositivo

Into the Shadows (Book 1 of the Into the Shadows Trilogy) (English Edition) di [Kirkpatrick, Karly]
Annuncio applicazione Kindle

Into the Shadows (Book 1 of the Into the Shadows Trilogy) (English Edition) Formato Kindle


Visualizza tutti i formati e le edizioni Nascondi altri formati ed edizioni
Prezzo Amazon
Nuovo a partire da Usato da
Formato Kindle
"Ti preghiamo di riprovare"
EUR 1,05

Lunghezza: 280 pagine Word Wise: Abilitato Miglioramenti tipografici: Abilitato
Scorri Pagina: Abilitato Lingua: Inglese
  • Libri simili a Into the Shadows (Book 1 of the Into the Shadows Trilogy) (English Edition)

Descrizione prodotto

Sinossi

***Darkness Rising, Book 2 of the Into the Shadows Trilogy, and After Dawn, Book 3 of the Into the Shadows Trilogy, are now available! ***

Fans of Heroes and X-Men, as well as The Hunger Games and Divergent will enjoy this dystopian paranormal thriller.

Being different might just get you killed.

Paivi Anderson's perfect life unravels before her eyes, as forces beyond her control cause the very fabric of her country to crumble. Fear and terror reign, forcing neighbor to turn against neighbor. Being a freshman in high school and trying to hide her powers is hard enough without having to wonder who she can trust.

Into the Shadows is a 65,000 word full novel.

About the Author:
Karly Kirkpatrick is a teacher by day and a writer by night. Her list of titles include her YA novels, Into the Shadows, Darkness Rising, After Dawn, The Green, Bloody Little Secrets, a romance novella London Calling, and a selection of short stories, including EIGHT and Negatives. You can find out more about Karly on her website.

L'autore

Karly Kirkpatrick is a YA writer, avid reader, and a high school German and French teacher. She lives in Elgin, Illinois with her husband, daughter, and two Shih Tzus. To contact Karly, read her blog, or find out about upcoming releases, go to www.karlykirkpatrick.com.

Dettagli prodotto

  • Formato: Formato Kindle
  • Dimensioni file: 572 KB
  • Lunghezza stampa: 280
  • Utilizzo simultaneo di dispositivi: illimitato
  • Editore: DarkSide Publishing (19 ottobre 2010)
  • Venduto da: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Lingua: Inglese
  • ASIN: B00480OJR8
  • Da testo a voce: Abilitato
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Abilitato
  • Screen Reader: Supportato
  • Miglioramenti tipografici: Abilitato
  • Media recensioni: Recensisci per primo questo articolo
  • Posizione nella classifica Bestseller di Amazon: #815.950 a pagamento nel Kindle Store (Visualizza i Top 100 a pagamento nella categoria Kindle Store)
  • Hai trovato questo prodotto a un prezzo più basso?

Recensioni clienti

Non ci sono ancora recensioni di clienti su Amazon.it
5 stelle
4 stelle
3 stelle
2 stelle
1 stella

Le recensioni clienti più utili su Amazon.com (beta) (Potrebbero essere presenti recensioni del programma "Early Reviewer Rewards")

Amazon.com: 4.0 su 5 stelle 100 recensioni
2 di 2 persone hanno trovato utile la seguente recensione
2.0 su 5 stelle Into the Shadows 29 agosto 2015
Di Angie - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato: Formato Kindle Acquisto verificato
I liked the ideas behind Into the Shadows, but it reads really young. Paivi is 14, so the narrative obviously sounds like a young teen, but the tone really does not match the seriousness of the plot. Also, everything is oversimplified and actually kind of ridiculous. The presidential election is coming up, and one of the runners has obtained a list of people with special abilities who supposedly could be linked to a rampant terrorist group. Paivi and her family are on that list. She sometimes has glimpses of the future, a very powerful ability if she knew how to control it and got into the wrong hands.

Into the Shadows has a great base. It's set in the near future and really resembles the time that we are currently living it. Terrorists have gotten more extreme though, and one presidential hopeful wants to be the one to take them out using any means necessary and getting into the White House along the way. One of Paivi's teachers is also really passionate about getting her students involved in politics. They should be aware of what's going on around them even if they can't vote. That's great, but sadly, the way everything plays out is just kind of silly.

Paivi and her family (among others) are tagged as Enemies of the State, and their rights have been stripped because of this. But Paivi cries because she can't be on the basketball team anymore, compares her EOS status to being grounded, and finds a loophole that allows her to attend the school dance. Um...right. Because this isn't a bigger deal than that? The EOS have to wear badges declaring them as such and have to place them in charges at home before curfew. Wouldn't ankle bracelets like the ones for house arrest make more sense? They can be tracked and they can't take them off and essentially hide their EOS status (which Paivi does)! And why are they even allowed out in society if they're such a threat? It makes zero sense. And sneaking into Canada is apparently very easy.

I'm disappointed in Into the Shadows. There's some great ideas here, but it was all just too simple to the point that it didn't even resemble a realistic situation. I also think it would have benefited from a slightly older protagonist. Paivi just has no grasp on the seriousness of the situation. I appreciate that she understands this is wrong at the very least, but she's upset for all the wrong reasons. This does end on a cliffhanger, but I won't be continuing.
1 di 1 persone hanno trovato utile la seguente recensione
5.0 su 5 stelle So much like the real thing. 20 settembre 2016
Di Loni_Love618 - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato: Formato Kindle Acquisto verificato
This book feels as though it's giving you the history of this nation. Because people are different everyone assumes they are dangerous. So not true. Different doesn't always mean dangerous. And to have families ripped apart just because you don't understand them is horrific. People just need to stop and get to know one another to understand their differences. And maybe just maybe we can all be civil towards one another.
4 di 4 persone hanno trovato utile la seguente recensione
3.0 su 5 stelle Into the Shadows 2 marzo 2012
Di ReadingDiva's Blog - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato: Formato Kindle Acquisto verificato
Into the Shadows is a page turner. Paivi comes from a family that shares special abilities. She is part of a group of people who can do incredible things, and some like Paivi can dream of terrible things. For Paivi, her dreams aren't just dreams; they are predictions of what's to happen. Paivi's world starts turning into a nightmare when she first dream of her best friend's mom death.

Paivi's reality becomes her nightmare when things start changing around her. As the country' politics shift, so does her future and the future of those she loves. The country politics becomes aggressive and the candidates running for the presidency play all sort of nasty tricks to secure their place in power.

Paivi keeps her ability a secret, her reality and those who are also gifted changes drastically once the elected president obtains a list of people who blacklisted as "terrorists". School is not longer fun, her friends have become her enemies and her life has become a living nightmare.

Paivi's almost perfect life takes a turn for the worse, her parents are taken away and accused of being terrorist and a threat. She has to run and leave everything she has known behind, to start a new life with her brother Torsten and her friend Christian. I am looking forward to book #2. I am sure there is plenty in store for Paivi, Torsten & Christian. I am hoping Torsten is able to develop some sort of ability, otherwise that will totally ruin it for me.

I hope that book # 2 has a lot more about Christian. I would like to see Paivi and Christian friendship develop more, their relationship feels a little awkward but I assume it is due to his personality and arrogance.

I must say, I was thrown aback at the sudden end, but I still enjoyed the book. Into the Shadows is a good read, a page turner and one that will keep asking for more. Kuddos to author Karly Kirkpatrick, this was a fun read.
5.0 su 5 stelle Absolutely Worth Reading! 2 agosto 2012
Di Kimber Shook - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato: Formato Kindle Acquisto verificato
I found myself sucked into this book right from the start. There were a few parts that I wasn't sure why I was reading it - like political issues and current events but I totally enjoyed every detail even when it came to the basketball scenes. This is a sport I never understood nor desired to watch, let alone read. Karly totally scored it and still kept my attention. Let me just say - O.M.G. - This book was Awesome!!!!

I felt my blood boil with the way Paivi and her family were being treated and branded as EOS - Enemy of the State - without just cause. So much emotion consumed me till the end. I couldn't believe how much I was engulfed with this book till I got to the end and I could actually regulate my breathing and heart rate as I reminded myself - it is just a book...

Absolutely worth reading!!!!
4.0 su 5 stelle A tough story for teens 11 gennaio 2014
Di Angeli - Pubblicato su Amazon.com
Formato: Formato Kindle Acquisto verificato
I am anxious to read the other books in the trilogy as this one leaves you hanging. Reminiscent of the Holocaust, this story is very creepy in the way that the population blindly lets the government ostracize people for no apparent reasons. Kirkpatrick does an excellent job of making the reader feel that the populace is powerless to fight this ostracism. I found myself wondering how I would react in such a situation. Would I end up toted off like Dr. Hasenpfeffer or just turn out my lights and ignore the actions of the ATC like the neighbors? A wonderful discussion starter. How will this end???
click to open popover